Research Databases

blue line

A B C D E F L N O S T W
List of research database titles, descriptions and links
About Books screenshot

about:books

Information about books and authors.

Use this resource
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

Academic Search Premiere

Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

Use this resource
African American Heritage

African American Heritage

Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research.

Use this resource
American & English Literature

American & English full text literature collections

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

Use this resource
Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Ancestry Library Edition

Trace your genealogy using historical records; U.S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more.  

Use this resource
Biography Reference Bank

Biography Reference Bank

Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Use this resource
Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.

Use this resource
Chilton Library

Chilton Auto Repair Library

Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.

Use this resource
Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information

Use this resource
Digital Public Library of America

Digital Public Library of America

Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.

Use this resource
EBSCOhost Research Databases

EBSCOhost

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Use this resource
Explora Primary Schools

Explora Primary Schools

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Use this resource
Explora Secondary Schools

Explora Secondary Schools

Grades 6-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Use this resource
Fold3 Military Records Library Edition

Fold3 Military Records Library Edition

A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use this resource
Free Ohio Driving Practice Tests

Free Ohio Driving Practice Tests

In the Midwest, a motor vehicle can feel essential. Whether you’ll be commuting to school or work, taking a road trip to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, or earning a living as a bus or truck driver, you’ll need an operator license. And whether you’re studying for an automobile instruction permit, a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC) for a motorcycle license, or a commercial learner’s permit (CLP), we’ve got your back. Our practice tests resemble the official knowledge exams in every way.

Use this resource
Lynda.com is now LinkedIn Learning. Access it free with your library card.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com, a LinkedIn Company, is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.

Use this resource
Northstar Digital Literacy

Northstar Digital Literacy

Northstar Digital Literacy is a self-directed learning and assessment tool that covers a variety of technology scenarios. Short lessons and practice sessions improve your skills on a number of common computer topics.

Use this resource
Ohio Web Library provides free access to manyb databases for Ohio library users.

Ohio Web Library

Includes African American Heritage; American and English full text literature collections; Biography Reference Bank; Business Source Premier; EBSCOhost academic research; Gale in Context;  HeritageQuest; Literary reference Center; Oxford Research Encyclopedias; World Book Online, and more!

Use this resource
Sanborn Fire Maps

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development

Use this resource
Transparent Language

Transparent Language

When you create a free account, the system will save your learning progress!  Transparent Language offers over 90 languages, some with multiple dialects, in an easy-to-follow format. Review what you've learned whenever you like!

Use this resource
Includes research resources for ages pre-k through college, including Timelines and Advanced.

World Book Online

Includes research resources for ages pre-k through college, including Timelines and Advanced.

Use this resource

research databases